Photo Documentary Project Proposal

1. Who is the primary audience for your documentary project?

The primary audience of my documentary project will be the general audience that has limited to no knowledge about Multiple Sclerosis (M.S.) and people who have “invisible diseases” that feel that the masses don’t really understand their situation.

2.What is the story that you want to tell through your photographs?

I want to the tell the story of my girlfriend, Brianna Rose Trickey, who was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis over a year ago. I want to show her everyday life, which at times is very unpredictable. I want to give my audience an insight to how hard life can be when you really can’t predict how everyday activities can affect those with M.S.

3. What is the general theme/focus of your project?

The general focus is to show that even though a disease has no visible physical symptoms, it is just as serious as any other disease and the public should be aware and educated about it.

4. Other content elements for the documentary project.

Other content elements that I am considering for this project is text and a voice-over of from my girlfriend. Although I wish for the photos to speak for themselves, I want the text and voice-overs to give more context. Hearing from the subject gives each image more power and meaning.

5. What are the smaller stories within your overall story?

The smaller stories within my overall story are the adventures my girlfriend and I go on, and how it’s not always easy for us just to go out. M.S. not only affects my girlfriend’s life but also the lives of those around her. The people included are her family, my family, our friends, and even strangers that are around when her M.S. flairs up.

6. What research do you need to complete your project. This aspect is VERY important.

I believe I need to research more on Multiple Sclerosis and see if there any photo documentary projects on M.S. or any other invisible diseases. Multiple Sclerosis is an autoimmune disease where the immune system attacks the nervous system. It is a slowly degenerative disease that can be controlled by there is no cure yet to be found for the illness. It is very debilitating, especially if the symptoms are not regulated. Common symptoms are fatigue, impaired vision, pain, and lack of coordination. There are many things that can develop because of M.S. since it directly affects the nervous system.

7. Why do you believe your project is worthwhile? How will it add to people’s understanding/appreciation of your subject? What is unique about your project?

Many people do not know what Multiple Sclerosis is. I only really know about it because I studied it when I was studying to become a nurse. My closest friends only found out about it because my girlfriend was diagnosed about it and I told them about it. This is what tends to happen; an “invisible disease” tends to stay invisible to the general public. This project will go beyond just address Multiple Sclerosis, it will also open the doors to conversations about other “invisible diseases” such as depression and anxiety.

8. What equipment will you require: technical needs to photograph, record, print, or project your story: lenses, camera, tripod, audio equipment, video, software and hardware for post-production, etc

To complete this project, I will be utilizing my Fujifilm XT-2, a Zoom H4N audio recorder, Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop, and my laptop.

9. What form/s will your final project take?: publication, exhibition channels, series of prints, photos & text panels, multimedia project (with interviews, voice-over, sound, music), book project, large-scale projection in/outdoors, online site.

The final form of my project will be a series of prints with text and a multimedia project. I think this project will be most effective in print, especially if I am able to capture really good moments that most people wouldn’t see. Not to say, this will only be about the hard times that no one sees, I want to make this a well rounded project. I want to show every aspect of life for an individual with M.S. Any person with a disease still lives their lives like the rest of us, they just have a few more obstacles then your average Joe.

10. How will you disseminate your project: how will you promote your project once it is completed?

I think I will slowly disseminate my project through my Instagram and my blog as it progresses. Social media will definitely play a big role to promote the project. I could see having a personal gallery for the project if I am pleased enough with my work. That would allow for a bigger audience, which is ultimately my aim. Having a multimedia project will also help in reaching a bigger audience, especially with reaching those who would not be able to attend an exhibition.

12. What will help you to improve the overall quality and effectiveness of your finished project?

In order to improve the overall quality and effectiveness of my finished product, I will make sure to shoot as much as I can. I will not discard of any photos along the way. An open mind with will help me to explore other techniques to capture the right moments. I also need to be patient so the moments will just be placed into my lap. I will have my camera on me at all times, as much as possible in order to prepared at all times.

13. Please include a general timeline for your project

Leave a Reply

