Top 100 Most Influential Photos of All Time: Case Study House no. 22

julius-shulman-case-study-house-no-22-los-angeles-ca-1960-pierre-koenig

As soon as I saw this image, I had to chose it after seeing all the photos. I have always had a love of architecture and after being introduced for Julius Schulman, I could not help but admire his work. His work is a combination of two things that I love, architecture and photography. For the longest time, I have wanted a book of his photography. I remember after seeing a documentary about him, I considered making architecture one of my main focuses in photography.

Julius Schulman knew how to capture the essence of a space and make it breathe life. This image was a part of a case study that studied California homes that embraced modernism and the use of industrial materials. The home depicted in the photo is the Stahl House designed by Pierre Koenig. This was the most successful of the case study, with “it’s embodiment of the Good Life and the California Dream!”

Leave a Reply

